After installing Xubuntu on the P1120, I created a new user and deleted the user created when I installed the OS.
Unfortunately, I didnâ€™t know that I had to make the new user a member of the â€œadminâ€ group for the user to be able to use â€œsudoâ€ to do privileged actions. Somehow the user that I deleted wasnâ€™t really deleted, but itâ€™s no longer a member of the â€œadminâ€ group either.
I canâ€™t just reinstall the OS since I no longer have the second laptop for use with PXE booting and I havenâ€™t been successful in creating floppies for the rather complicated floppy installation procedure. Iâ€™m left with trying to find a working Linux rescue floppy so I can modify just the one /etc/group file, but so far no luck.